When making decisions about college, there can be a lot of pressure from family, friends and even from yourself about choosing a major and a career path. If you are unsure about what is right for you, I’m here to tell you not to worry.

It’s not unusual for a student to feel as if they are walking blindly into the college world if they do not have a set major. I understand the need to have a solid plan to cling to, but college is also about exploring and finding what is right for you. It is a time to open your eyes to the many possibilities and options regarding your career.

I remember being a junior in high school and feeling panicky because I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life. When teachers mentioned choosing a college and major, it just made me anxious and miserable. Eventually I had to slap some sense into myself. The more I thought about it, the more clearly I realized that long before students can even begin to take classes they’re really interested in, they have a year or more of prerequisite coursework. Every student will need basic English, math, humanities and science courses. You can use this ‘extra’ post-high-school time to think about your alternatives—long before you have to make the tough decisions.

Go to your college’s career center. Every university has one and they can be extremely helpful in guiding you toward your interests. Most of these centers have online career assessments. I took the one offered by Temple University, and was amazed by the variety of career options suggested to me. The experience opened my eyes to the fact that students are not really limited by their degree. No matter what you choose as your major, your college experience will also provide skills, and enable you to develop yourself, in ways that will help you in finding and succeeding in a job. So use your time at college to learn about what you like, and you will find that it can lead you to a job that makes use of your talents—and that you can also truly enjoy.

